The 56 Nations of The Commonwealth


“Every man, woman and child sits on the shoulders of previous generations, inheriting the courage and discovery of those who went before and the opportunity to learn the lessons of the past and to build for a better future.”

These words are opening lines of the Introduction to the Commonwealth Anthem and are the inspiration behind Commonwealth Community Heritage.


The Commonwealth is a voluntary association of 56 Nations which are spread across 6 continents:
Africa, Americas, Asia, Caribbean, Europe and Pacific.

The combined populations of the 56 Nations of The Commonwealth is approximately 2.4 billion.

Commonwealth Community Heritage is a national focus initiative which aims to give an ever-expanding international visibility to, and focus on, what is being achieved by citizens, communities and organisations through enterprise and innovation, in each of the 56 Nations of The Commonwealth generally, and also specifically, in the 4 areas of:

  • Politics - Diplomacy
  • Business - Enterprise
  • Education - Academia
  • Music - Creative Arts and Media

Commonwealth Community Heritage “Local Heroes” is an initiative which tells the stories of great achievers who, often starting out with next to nothing in terms of material wealth, through determination, fortitude and tenacity, achieve extraordinary results.

Click on countries below to discover more...