Commonwealth Community Heritage

A Commonwealth and National Focus
Convening the Constituency of the Commonwealth
2.2 Billion Commonwealth Citizens and 53 Commonwealth Governments

'The Commonwealth makes the world safe for diversity' – Nelson Mandela

Launched at Marlborough House in November 2014 Commonwealth Community Heritage is a Commonwealth and National focus initiative, which is an annual, on-going and recurring, initiative which takes as its starting point a National Focus Day of each of the 53 countries of the Commonwealth.

The aim of Commonwealth Community Heritage is to give an ever-expanding international visibility to, and focus on, what is being achieved by Commonwealth citizens, communities and organisations through social enterprise and innovation, in each Commonwealth country generally, and also specifically, in the 4 areas of:

1.              Politics - Diplomacy
2.              Business - Enterprise
3.              Education - Academia
4.              Music - Creative Arts and Media

This national focus and international visibility within a Commonwealth context is delivered through Commonwealth Community Heritage live-streamed National Focus Events and Workshops, virtual Pan-Commonwealth engagement and website display.

CYO’s Commonwealth Cities of Culture 2018 - 2019

In April 2018, at a special event in London, on the eve of the Biennial Meeting of the Commonwealth Heads of Government, to mark the end of the period of the Hon Prime Minster Joseph Muscat as the Commonwealth Chair-in-Office (2015 – 2018), the Commonwealth Youth Orchestra and Choir (CYO) launched an exciting new national focus initiative:
CYO’s Commonwealth Cities of Culture.

This new initiative is an additional element which is now added to the CYO’s annual 10-month recurring series of events and workshops, which are held throughout the 53 countries of the Commonwealth.

The CYO’s cultural journey of workshops and national focus events around the Commonwealth follows the same itinerary each year - which is the route taken by the Queen’s Baton Relay for the Commonwealth Games 2014.

Every year, in October, the CYO’s cultural journey of Commonwealth workshops and national focus events start in Asia and then travels through the Pacific region, across the African continent, the Caribbean, the Americas and with the annual itinerary concluding, in July, in Europe.

The first season, 2018/2019, of CYO’s Commonwealth Cities of Culture will start with the capital of each of the Commonwealth Nations.

In subsequent years, other national cities and regions will be the main focus of CYO’s Commonwealth Cities of Culture.

The list of CYO’s Commonwealth Cities of Culture will be published in advance to maximise the fully-funded opportunities and engagement and for Commonwealth nationals, both at home and abroad.

CYO’s Commonwealth Cities of Culture for the 2018/2019 are as follows:


India - New Delhi
Pakistan - Islamabad
Bangladesh - Dhaka
Sri Lanka - Colombo
Singapore - Singapore
Malaysia - Kuala Lumpur
Brunei - Begawan

Australia - Canberra
Papua New Guinea - Port Moresby
Solomon Islands - Honiara
Nauru - Nauru
Tuvalu - Funafuti
Samoa - Apia
Kiribati - Bairiki

New Zealand - Wellington
Tonga - Nuku’alofa
Fiji - Suva
Vanuatu - Port Vila


Sierra Leone - Freetown
Ghana - Accra
Nigeria - Abuja
Cameroon - Yaoundé
Rwanda - Kigali

Uganda - Kampala
Kenya - Nairobi
Tanzania - Dodoma
Seychelles - Victoria
Mauritius - Port Louis
Mozambique - Maputo

Zambia - Lusaka
Malawi - Lilongwe
Botswana - Gaborone
Namibia - Windhoek

The Gambia - Banjul
South Africa - Pretoria
Lesotho - Maseru
Swaziland - Mbabane

Guyana - Georgetown
Trinidad & Tobago - Port of Spain
Grenada - St George’s
Barbados - Bridgetown
St Vincent & The Grenadines - Kingstown
St Lucia - Castries
Dominica - Roseau
St Kitts & Nevis - Basseterre

Jamaica - Kingston
Antigua & Barbuda - St John’s
Bahamas - Nassau
Belize - Belmopan
Canada - Ottawa

Cyprus - Nicosia
Malta - Valletta
United Kingdom - London

Commonwealth Community Heritage

Commonwealth Community Heritage

Commonwealth Music Partnership Commonwealth Music Competitions Commonwealth Music Commonwealth Music Council Commonwealth Community Heritage Commonwealth Music Company Commonwealth Music Distance Learning